Capitol Reef National Park

A short drive east of Torrey, Utah, you will find the multi-hued rock layers of Capitol Reef National Park. Beginning as a National Monument with just over 37,700 acres in 1937, Capitol Reef later became a National Park on December 18, 1971 and increase in size to around 254,000 acres.

Capitol Reef is made up of several geological features that includes the soft reddish-orange Entrada Sandstone of Cathedral Valley in the northwest, the white Navajo Sandstone domes found near the Fremont River, and the many nearly horizontal rock layers of the Water Pocket Fold which stretches for nearly 100 miles down the east side of the park.

Located near the Visitor Center, history buffs can learn about the Fruita Historic District, Historic Fruita School, Behunin Cabin, and Gifford Farm.

Outdoor enthusiasts can enjoy camping, rock climbing, bicycling, backcountry horseback riding, hiking and backpacking.

Natural arches in Capitol Reef National Park

Bear Canyon Arch

Boomerang Arch

Bow String Arch

Brimhall Arch Lower

Brimhall Arch Upper

Cap Arch

Cassidy Arch

Cherrios Double Arch

Cohab Canyon Arch

Dome Arch Lower

Frying Pan Arch

Grand Wash Arch

Hickman Natural Bridge

Muley Arch

Nels Johnson Bridges

Oyster Shell Reef Arch

Peek-a-boo Arch

Post Bridge

Reach Arch

Saddle Arch

Sheets Gulch Arch

Shinob Canyon Arch

Shy Arch

South Draw Arch

Spirit Arch

Trinity Arch

Upper Muley Twist Arch